August 1, 2022

Jonas Egerer publishes paper in “European Journal of Operational Research”

In the context of the stronger integration of markets of different energy carriers – in particular between electricity and fossil gas as well as hydrogen in the future – the publication “Long-run market equilibria in coupled energy sectors: A study of uniqueness” by Schöller Fellow Dr. Jonas Egerer deals with the question of sufficient conditions for the uniqueness of short- and long-run market equilibrium in coupled markets of multiple energy sectors. The paper was published in the European Journal of Operational Research (A) in cooperation with Prof. Dr. Veronika Grimm, Julia Grübel and Prof. Dr. Gregor Zöttl (all FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg).

Please find more information here.

June 21, 2022

Live stream of the Schöller Award Ceremony 2022

The live stream of the Schöller Award Ceremony on June 23, 2022 at 5 pm (CET) will be available on Youtube. The stream with English Audiotranslation will be available here.

May 9, 2022

Honorary Doctorate for Schöller Honorary Fellow Thomas A. H. Schöck

In April 2020, FAU’s former chancellor Thomas A. H. Schöck was awarded an honorary doctorate from FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg. However, the ceremony had to postponed due to the pandemic. During a festive ceremony on May 6, 2022 FAU President Prof. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Hornegger and Prof. Dr. Jochen Hoffmann, Dean of the Faculty of Law and Economics, presented the certificate to Thomas A. H. Schöck.

Image: FAU/Harald Sippel

March 22, 2022

Christian Maier receives Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize

Schöller Fellow Christian Maier is to receive the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize for his research on technostress – the top award for early career investigators in Germany. The award-winners were chosen by a selection committee appointed by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) and the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF). The prizes are each worth €20,000 and will be presented at an award ceremony on May 3rd.

Please find more information here.

February 11, 2022

Announcement of the Schöller Fellows 2022

The Schöller Research Center is excited to announce its thirteenth Fellows-cohort:
This year’s Schöller Senior Fellow is Prof. Dr. Jan vom Brocke (University of Liechtenstein).
Schöller Fellows 2022 are Dr. Hendrik Birkel (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg), Dr. Katharina Ebner (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg), Prof. Dr. Markus Nagler (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg) and Dr. Simon Reif (ZEW Mannheim).
The honorary award goes to the chairwoman of the Ludwig Erhard Initiativkreis Fürth e. V. Evi Kurz.

The Award Ceremony takes place on Thursday, June 23, 2022 at 5 pm at the Museum for Industrial Culture in Nuremberg.

For further information on the venue, please click here.

Additionally, click here for driving directions.

December 7, 2021

Schöller Research Center extended again

The Theo and Friedl Schöller-Foundation continues its support of the Dr. Theo and Friedl Schöller Research Center for Business and Society – it is the reward for 12 years of successful work. “The goal of the research center is to network WiSo even better internationally. With the 17 senior fellows and 35 fellows, the research center has succeeded excellently,” explains Rainer Hattenberger.

Prof. Dr. Michael Amberg, Director of the Dr. Theo and Friedl Schöller Research Center, is delighted about the third funding commitment: “Over the past twelve years, we have been able to complete many exciting projects with renowned colleagues from all over the world. We are very grateful to be able to continue this work in the future.” The Schöller Research Center is supported with 175,000 euros annually for six more years.
Image: FAU/Mathias Orgeldinger

October 18, 2021

Call for Applications: Schöller Fellowships 2022

In 2022, the Dr. Theo and Friedl Schöller Research Center for Business and Society will appoint the thirteenth cohort of Schöller Fellows. Application for fellowships is now open in the following two categories:
– Schöller Senior Fellows for internationally renowned scholars
– Schöller Fellows for promising early-career scholars (including assistant professors, post-docs and outstanding PhD students)

Application deadline is December 31, 2021.

The application form as well as further information regarding the application process and the fellowships (selection criteria, rights and obligations, etc.) are available here.

October 3, 2021

Helmut Haussmann on the board of trustees of “Bundeskanzler-Helmut-Kohl-Stiftung”

Schöller Honorary Fellow and former Minister of Economics Prof. Dr. Helmut Haussmann has been appointed to the board of trustees of the newly established “Bundeskanzler-Helmut-Kohl-Stiftung” (Federal Chancellor Helmut Kohl Foundation). The foundation started its work on September 21; the supervisory body of the foundation was appointed for five years by Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier.

Further information can be found here.

May 30, 2021

Harry van der Weijde receives Best Publication Award

Schöller Fellow Harry van der Weijde’s paper „Uncertain Bidding Zone Configurations: The Role of Expectations for Transmission and Generation Capacity Expansion“ been awarded the Best Publication Award in Energy from the Energy, Natural Resources and the Environment section (ENRE) of Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS).

Ongoing policy discussions on the reconfiguration of bidding zones in European electricity markets induce uncertainty about the future market design. Van der Weijde’s paper deals with the question of how this uncertainty affects market participants and their long-run investment decisions in generation and transmission capacity. The paper was published in the European Journal of Operational Research (A) in cooperation with Mirjam Ambrosius, Dr. Jonas Egerer und Prof. Dr. Veronika Grimm (FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg).

Further information can be found here.

February 8, 2021

Announcement of the Schöller Fellows 2021

The Schöller Research Center is excited to announce its twelfth Fellows-cohort:
This year’s Schöller Senior Fellow is Prof. Dr. Martin Schreier (Vienna University of Economics and Business).
Schöller Fellows 2021 are Dr. David Bartlitz (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg), Dr. Jonas Egerer (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg), Dr. Christian Maier (University of Bamberg) and Prof. Dr. Almasa Sarabi (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg) and Prof. Michael Weber, Ph.D. (Chicago Booth).

Please find more information on this year’s Fellowship recipients and their research projects here.

January 1, 2021

Nilmini Wickramasinghe and Harry van der Weijde receive Humboldt Research Fellowship

Schöller Senior Fellow Prof. Nilmini Wickramasinghe, Ph.D. and Schöller Fellow Dr. Harry van der Weijde have been elected recipients of the prestigious Humboldt Research Fellowships from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

The research scholarships enable the Fellows to spend research stays at the School of Business, Economics and Society at FAU, where Wickramasinghe will carry out research on Digital Health at the Chair of Information Systems, especially Services, Processes, and Intelligence and van der Weijde will work on the analysis of risks in consumer-oriented energy markets at the Chair of Economic Theory.

Research fellowships of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation bring researchers from all over the world to Germany. The Foundation’s awards are among the most prestigious in Europe; the alumni network includes 50 Nobel Prize winners.

More news >>>