News

February 8, 2021

Announcement of the Schöller Fellows 2021

The Schöller Research Center is excited to announce its twelfth Fellows-cohort:
This year’s Schöller Senior Fellow is Prof. Dr. Martin Schreier (Vienna University of Economics and Business).
Schöller Fellows 2021 are Dr. David Bartlitz (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg), Dr. Jonas Egerer (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg), Dr. Christian Maier (University of Bamberg) and Prof. Dr. Almasa Sarabi (FAU Erlangen-Nuremberg) and Prof. Michael Weber, Ph.D. (Chicago Booth).

Please find more information on this year’s Fellowship recipients and their research projects here.

01. Januar 2021

Nilmini Wickramasinghe and Harry van der Weijde receive Humboldt Research Fellowship

Schöller Senior Fellow Prof. Nilmini Wickramasinghe, Ph.D. and Schöller Fellow Dr. Harry van der Weijde have been elected recipients of the prestigious Humboldt Research Fellowships from the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation.

The research scholarships enable the Fellows to spend research stays at the School of Business, Economics and Society at FAU, where Wickramasinghe will carry out research on Digital Health at the Chair of Information Systems, especially Services, Processes, and Intelligence and van der Weijde will work on the analysis of risks in consumer-oriented energy markets at the Chair of Economic Theory.

Research fellowships of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation bring researchers from all over the world to Germany. The Foundation’s awards are among the most prestigious in Europe; the alumni network includes 50 Nobel Prize winners.

December 20, 2020

Jeffrey Parsons  honoured with “MISQ Paper of the Year 2019”

The paper “Expecting the Unexpected: Effects of Data Collection Design Choices on the Quality of Crowdsourced User-Generated Content” by Jeffrey Parsons (with Roman Lukyanenko, Yolanda F. Wiersma & Mahed Maddah) was recognized with the MISQ Paper of the Year 2019. In September 2020, the article received the Best Information Systems Publications Award from the Association for Information Systems (AIS).

Further information can be found here.

October 28, 2020

Yipeng Liu conferred with the award of Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences

Prof. Dr. Yipeng Liu has been conferred the award of Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences. He was recognised for his eminent contribution and impact to the academic community, business practice, and policy engagement in international entrepreneurship, global talent management, mergers and acquisitions, and emerging markets.

The Academy of Social Sciences is composed of nearly 90,000 social scientists, including 1400 Fellows. The Academy’s fellowships are awarded for outstanding contribution to research, and for the application of social science to policy, education, society and the economy.

Read more about the Academy of Social Sciences here.

October 20, 2020

Call for Applications: Schöller Fellowships 2021

In 2021, the Dr. Theo and Friedl Schöller Research Center for Business and Society will appoint the twelfth cohort of Schöller Fellows. Application for fellowships is now open in the following two categories:
– Schöller Senior Fellows for internationally renowned scholars
– Schöller Fellows for promising early-career scholars (including assistant professors, post-docs and outstanding PhD students)

Application deadline is December 31, 2020.

The application form as well as further information regarding the application process and the fellowships (selection criteria, rights and obligations, etc.) are available here.

span style=”color: #d65050;”>September 2, 2020

Jeffrey Parsons  receives “Best Information Systems Publications Award”

The paper “Expecting the Unexpected: Effects of Data Collection Design Choices on the Quality of Crowdsourced User-Generated Content” by Jeffrey Parsons (with Roman Lukyanenko, Yolanda F. Wiersma & Mahed Maddah), published in 2019 in MIS Quarterly, was recognized with the Best Information Systems Publications Award of the Association for Information Systems (AIS). The award was established to recognize the breadth of high quality work that is being published in the information systems discipline, and to bring outstanding papers across a range of journals to the attention of the IS community.

Further information can be found here.

August 20, 2020

Nivedita Agarwal publishes paper in “Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal”

In the publication “Managing Dilemmas of Resource Mobilization Through Jugaad: A Multi‐Method Study of Social Enterprises in Indian Healthcare” in the Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal (A), Dr. Nivedita Agarwal along with her co-authors (Ronika Chakrabarti, Jaideep Prabhu and Alexander Brem) investigate the dilemmas that social entrepreneurs encounter and discuss the practices they use to manage dilemmas over time.

Using a multi‐method approach involving event structure analysis and an inductive multiple case study, their study highlights four key organizational practices—asset multiplication, leveraging human capital, building social embeddedness, and affordable quality that embody the jugaad elements of frugality and inclusivity.

Adding to the social entrepreneurship literature, their study demonstrates that the jugaad approach is conceptually distinct from bricolage and relevant to the study of social enterprises’ resource mobilization processes.

The full article is available here.

June 18, 2020

Michael Grottke receives Test-of-Time Award

The article “An Empirical Investigation of Fault Types in Space Mission System Software” by Schöller Fellow Prof. Dr. Michael Grottke (with Allen P. Nikora and Kishor S. Trivedi) will receive the “Test of Time Award” at the 50th IEEE / IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks (DSN 2020). The award recognizes contributions that have a lasting and important impact on the theory and/or practice of researching reliable systems and networks. The award-winning article deals with the analysis of errors in flight software of space probes and was developed in cooperation with NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory.

Further information can be found here.

June 5, 2020

Yipeng Liu publishes paper on COVID-19-crisis and founds Center for China Management and Global Business

Schöller Fellow Prof. Dr. Yipeng Liu has recently published a paper on the COVID-19-crisis: “The Challenges and Opportunities of a Global Health Crisis: The Management and Business Implications of COVID-19 from an Asian Perspective” (J. M Lee & C. Lee), which was published in Asian Business & Management, is available here.

Moreover, Prof. Liu founded  the Center for China Management and Global Business at Henley Business School. The Center is one of the UK’s leading progressive think tank with a focus on Business links between China and UK. Further information can be found here.

April 1, 2020

Alexander Bohnert appointed Professor at TUM

Schöller Fellow Prof. Dr. Alexander Bohnert is appointed as Professor of Mathematical Finance at the Technical University of Munich for the summer term 2020.
Further information can be found here.

March 19, 2020

Lorenz Graf-Vlachy publishes paper in “Organization Science”

The paper “Effects of an Advancing Tenure on CEO Cognitive Complexity” by Schöller Fellow Dr. Lorenz Graf-Vlachy (with J. Bundy and D. C. Hambrick) was published online in Organization Science (A+). Organization Science is widely recognized as one of the top journals in the fields of strategy, management, and organization theory.
The full article is available here.

February 1, 2020

Harry van der Weijde publishes Paper in “European Journal of Operational Research”

Ongoing policy discussions on the reconfiguration of bidding zones in European electricity markets induce uncertainty about the future market design. Dr. Harry van der Weijde’s paper „Uncertain Bidding Zone Configurations: The Role of Expectations for Transmission and Generation Capacity Expansion“ deals with the question of how this uncertainty affects market participants and their long-run investment decisions in generation and transmission capacity. The paper was published in the European Journal of Operational Research (A) in cooperation with Mirjam Ambrosius, Dr. Jonas Egerer und Prof. Dr. Veronika Grimm (FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg).

Further information can be found here.

More news >>>

News

01. Januar 2021

Harry van der Weijde erhält Humboldt-Forschungsstipendium

Dr. Harry van der Weijde hat von der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung ein angesehenes Humboldt-Stipendium für erfahrene Wissenschaftler erhalten. Das Stipendium ermöglicht Dr. van der Weijde seit Beginn dieses Jahres einen Forschungsaufenthalt am Fachbereich Wirtschafts- und Sozialwissenschaften der FAU, wo er sich mit der Analyse von Risiken in verbraucherorientierten Energiemärkten befassen wird.

Konkret zielt das Forschungsprojekt von Dr. van der Weijde darauf ab, einen interdisziplinären Rahmen für die Untersuchung und Optimierung von Risiken in zunehmend verbraucherzentrierten Energiemärkten – und analog dazu auch in anderen Sektoren – zu entwickeln und anzuwenden. Seine Forschung wird sich stark auf die Wirtschaftstheorie stützen und gleichzeitig die jüngsten Fortschritte in der Verhaltensökonomie widerspiegeln – das Studium der Psychologie in Bezug auf die wirtschaftlichen Entscheidungsprozesse von Einzelpersonen und Institutionen. Die methodischen Ansätze werden in einer Reihe von praktischen Anwendungen erprobt werden und nützliche Ergebnisse für Interessenvertreter wie politische Entscheidungsträger und Ingenieure liefern.

Forschungsstipendien der Alexander von Humboldt-Stiftung bringen Forscher aus aller Welt nach Deutschland. Die Preise der Stiftung zählen zu den renommiertesten in Europa; das Alumni-Netzwerk umfasst 50 Nobelpreisträger.

20. Dezember 2020

Jeffrey Parsons  mit „MISQ Paper of the Year 2019“ ausgezeichnet

Der Artikel „Expecting the Unexpected: Effects of Data Collection Design Choices on the Quality of Crowdsourced User-Generated Content“ von Jeffrey Parsons (mit Roman Lukyanenko, Yolanda F. Wiersma & Mahed Maddah) wurde als MISQ Paper of the Year 2019 ausgezeichnet. MISQ (Management Information Systems Quarterly) gilt als eine der angesehensten Fachzeitschriften auf dem Gebiet der Information Systems. Der Artikel wurde im September 2020 bereits mit dem Best Information Systems Publications Award der Association for Information Systems (AIS) gewürdigt.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

28. Oktober 2020

Yipeng Liu als Fellow der Academy of Social Sciences ausgezeichnet

Prof. Dr. Yipeng Liu wurde kürzlich für seinen herausragenden Beitrag zur Forschung und seinen bedeutenden Einfluss auf die akademische Gemeinschaft und die Geschäftspraktiken sowie seinen Einsatz in politischen Problemlösungen in den Bereichen internationales Unternehmertum, globales Talentmanagement, Mergers & Acquisitions sowie aufstrebende Märkte als Fellow der Academy of Social Sciences geehrt.

Die Academy of Social Sciences besteht aus einer Gemeinschaft von rund 90.000 Sozialwissenschaftlern, darunter ca. 1.400 Fellows. Mit den Fellowships der Academy werden bedeutende Beiträge zur Forschung und für die Anwendung der Sozialwissenschaften auf den Gebieten der Politik, Bildung, Gesellschaft und Wirtschaft ausgezeichnet.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

20. Oktober 2020

Bewerbungen für Schöller Fellowships noch bis 31.12.2020 möglich

Das Dr. Theo und Friedl Schöller Forschungszentrum für Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft schreibt für das Jahr 2021 erneut Fellowships in den folgenden Kategorien aus:
– Schöller Senior Fellow für international renommierte Wissenschaftler/innen
– Schöller Fellow für aufstrebende Wissenschaftler/innen (auch Habilitanden, Post-Doktoranden und herausragende Doktoranden)

Der Bewerbungszeitraum läuft bis zum 31. Dezember 2020.

Weiterführende Informationen zur Ausschreibung sowie die Bewerbungsformulare finden Sie hier.

2. September 2020

Jeffrey Parsons  mit „Best Information Systems Publications Award“ ausgezeichnet

Der 2019 in MIS Quarterly veröffentlichte Artikel „Expecting the Unexpected: Effects of Data Collection Design Choices on the Quality of Crowdsourced User-Generated Content“ von Jeffrey Parsons (mit Roman Lukyanenko, Yolanda F. Wiersma & Mahed Maddah) wurde mit dem Best Information Systems Publications Award der Association for Information Systems (AIS) ausgezeichnet. Mit der Auszeichnung werden herausragende Arbeiten innerhalb der Disziplin der Information Systems gewürdigt.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

20. August 2020

Nivedita Agarwal veröffentlicht Artikel im „Strategic Entrepreneurship Journal“

In der Publikation „Managing Dilemmas of Resource Mobilization Through Jugaad: A Multi‐Method Study of Social Enterprises in Indian Healthcare“ des Strategic Entrepreneurship Journals (A) untersucht Dr. Nivedita Agarwal zusammen mit ihren Co-Autoren (Ronika Chakrabarti, Jaideep Prabhu und Alexander Brem) die Dilemmata, denen soziale Entrepreneurs begegnen, und diskutiert die Praktiken, die sie im Laufe der Zeit zur Bewältigung von Dilemmata einsetzen.

Unter Verwendung eines Multimethoden-Ansatzes, der eine Analyse der Ereignisstruktur und eine induktive Mehrfach-Fallstudie einschließt, beleuchtet ihre Studie vier wichtige organisatorische Praktiken – Multiplikation von Vermögenswerten, Nutzung des Humankapitals, Aufbau sozialer Integration und erschwingliche Qualität, die die Jugaad-Elemente der Frugalität und Inklusivität verkörpern.

Als Ergänzung zur Literatur über soziales Entrepreneurship zeigt ihre Studie, dass sich der Jugaad-Ansatz konzeptionell von Bricolage unterscheidet und für die Untersuchung der Prozesse zur Mobilisierung der Ressourcen sozialer Unternehmen relevant ist.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

18. Juni 2020

Michael Grottke mit Test-of-Time Award ausgezeichnet

Der Artikel „An Empirical Investigation of Fault Types in Space Mission System Software“ von Schöller Fellow Prof. Dr. Michael Grottke (mit Allen P. Nikora und Kishor S. Trivedi) wird im Rahmen der 50th IEEE/IFIP International Conference on Dependable Systems and Networks (DSN 2020) mit dem „Test-of-Time Award“ ausgezeichnet. Mit diesem Preis werden Beiträge gewürdigt, welche eine anhaltende und bedeutende Wirkung auf die Theorie und/oder Praxis der Erforschung verlässlicher Systeme und Netzwerke hatten. Der prämierte Artikel beschäftigte sich mit der Analyse von Fehlern in der Flugsoftware von Raumsonden und ist in Kooperation mit dem Jet Propulsion Laboratory der NASA entstanden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

5. Juni 2020

Yipeng Liu veröffentlicht Beitrag zur COVID-19-Krise und gründet Center for China Management and Global Business

Schöller Fellow Prof. Dr. Yipeng Liu hat einen Beitrag zu den aktuellen Herausforderungen und Chancen in der globalen COVID-19-Krise veröffentlicht. Der Artikel „The Challenges and Opportunities of a Global Health Crisis: The Management and Business Implications of COVID-19 from an Asian Perspective” (J. M Lee & C. Lee), der im Asian Business & Management erschienen ist, kann hier als Volltext eingesehen werden.

Darüberhinaus hat Prof. Liu kürzlich das Center for China Management and Global Business an der Henley Business School gegründet. Das Center ist eines der führenden progressiven Think Tanks in Großbritannien mit Schwerpunkt auf Geschäftsbeziehungen zwischen China und Großbritannien. Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

1. Juni 2020

Schöller Festveranstaltung entfällt

Angesichts der Maßnahmen zur Eindämmung der COVID-19-Pandemie wird die Schöller Festveranstaltung am 25. Juni 2020 leider nicht stattfinden können. Wir bedauern diese Entwicklung sehr. Doch die Gesundheit und Sicherheit unserer Gäste sowie die Verlangsamung der Ausbreitung des Virus stehen bei dieser Entscheidung an erster Stelle. Vielen Dank für Ihr Verständnis und bleiben Sie gesund!

1. April 2020

Alexander Bohnert übernimmt Professur an der TUM

Schöller Fellow Prof. Dr. Alexander Bohnert übernimmt im Sommersemester 2020 die Professur für Mathematical Finance an der Technischen Universität München in Vertretung.
Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

19. März 2020

Lorenz Graf-Vlachy veröffentlicht Artikel in „Organization Science“

Der Artikel „Effects of an Advancing Tenure on CEO Cognitive Complexity” von Schöller Fellow Dr. Lorenz Graf-Vlachy (mit J. Bundy und D. C. Hambrick) wurde online beim renommierten Journal Organization Science (A+) veröffentlicht.
Für weitere Informationen klicken Sie bitte hier.

1. Februar 2020

Harry van der Weijde veröffentlicht Artikel im „European Journal of Operational Research“

Ausgehend von den aktuellen politischen Diskussionen über die Neukonfiguration von Ausschreibungszonen auf den europäischen Strommärkten, die zu Unsicherheiten über die künftige Marktgestaltung führen, befasst sich die Publikation „Uncertain Bidding Zone Configurations: The Role of Expectations for Transmission and Generation Capacity Expansion“ von Schöller Fellow Dr. Harry van der Weijde mit der Frage, wie sich diese Unsicherheit auf die Marktteilnehmer und ihre langfristigen Investitionsentscheidungen in Bezug auf Erzeugungs- und Übertragungskapazitäten auswirkt. Der Artikel ist im European Journal of Operational Research (A) in Zusammenarbeit mit Mirjam Ambrosius, Dr. Jonas Egerer und Prof. Dr. Veronika Grimm (FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg) entstanden.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

24. Januar 2020

Fellows 2020 stehen fest

Das Schöller Forschungszentrum freut sich, seine Fellows für 2020 bekannt zu geben:
Als Schöller Senior Fellow wird Prof. Miguel Anjos, Ph.D. (University of Edinburgh) ausgezeichnet. Die Preisträger in der Kategorie Nachwuchswissenschaftler sind dieses Jahr Dr. Nivedita Agarwal (FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg), Jun.-Prof. Dr. Steffi Haag (FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg), Dr. Daniel Schnurr (Universität Passau) und Jun.-Prof. Dr. Hannah Trittin-Ulbrich (Leuphana Universität Lüneburg).

Weitere Informationen finden Sie hier.

Mehr Meldungen >>>